

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Argoed Community Council held on Wednesday 7 May 2025 at 7:00pm.

Present:

Argoed Ward

Councillors Faron Hadfield-Jones (Chair), John Holiday, Paul Jewell, Ian Jolly and Hilary Mcguill

New Brighton Ward

Councillors Jon McCarron, Roy Marsh, Graham Palmer and Miriam Shepherd

In Attendance: Sharon Swift (newly appointed Clerk); Mared Eastwood (former Clerk) and Janet Jones, Assistant Clerk.

1. Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Councillors Rebecca Legge, Rebecca Blanchard, Jack Morris, Gwilym Owen and Keith Mutch.

2. Chair's Report

Councillor Hadfield-Jones presented his report on his year as Chair, highlighting some key achievements of the Community Council:

- improved lighting has been installed in the alley way at Mercia Square and at the car park, which has been well received;
- the fireworks event at Argoed;
- the Christmas lights across the ward and the Christmas tree at Mercia Square;
- the Remembrance Sunday event was well attended;
- a new bench has been installed on Bryn Lane; and
- a new base for the Community Council at New Brighton Community Centre.

He detailed the planning he had been involved in about the move to New Brighton Community Centre, as well as the Working Group meetings for the appointment of a new Clerk. There had also been meetings attended about planning applications. Councillor Hadfield-Jones thanked the Council and Clerk for the support he had received during his two years as Chair.

3. Election of Chair for 2025-26

Councillor Miriam Shepherd, the current Vice-Chair, was nominated to be Chair for 2025-26. All members were in favour.

Resolved	d – that Councillor Shepherd be elected Chair for 2025-26.
Signed:	
-	C1/25